On the Turkish Spring 1#

June 3, 2013

Unedited status update from Facebook, copypasted. SOLIDARITY!

PLS SHARE!This is the english translation of what happens to the arbitrarily arrested and detained un İstanbul
*First of all I want to thank those who have been concerned for me, called lawyers to aid and helped me. I am home now and I am okay. I want to tell everyone about my experience so that they learn what is happening to people who have been arbitrarily arrested and detained. To be perfectly clear, my sole purpose is to be heard, to let everybody know what has been going on. I am going to recount, with utmost clarity, everything that happened right from the start, every swearword I heard and insult I was subjected to.
Last night (June 3rd,2013) around 9.00 pm at Barbaros Boulevard traffic lights in Besiktas I was arbitrarily arrested and detained. When it happened, I was neither swearing at the police nor throwing stones at them. As soon as they saw me, they grabbed me by my arm, twisting it violently (some friends saw the moment of my arrest on television also). And then I was in hell. From the traffic lights to the bus stops by the seaside, every single policemen – officers and anti-riot squad – who saw me being taken away punched and kicked me. Approximately for 100 – 150 metres – that is until we arrived at the Kadıköy ferry bridge –  every one of them slapped, punched and kicked me. As they were beating me, they were cursing and swearing at me, hurling countless insults at me: “You fucking bastards, you sons of bitches, how dare you think you are the ones to save this country!”. I could not even count the number of policemen who hit me till we reached the detention bus. Just when they took me near the bus, someone called from the back of it, “bring him here!” I was taken to the back where I was further beaten by the policemen waiting there. I only found out later that I was brought there because there were cameras around, so they held me between the bus and a wall, to hit me on the quiet. When I got on the detention bus (one of the Istanbul Electric Power, Funicular, and Streetcar Board) the lights were out and from inside I could hear a girl begging and beseeching: “I did not do anything, brother”. I could not even see those who continued beating me as I was getting on the bus and after I got on. All I could do amidst the darkness was trying to protect my head.  Swearing, cursing and insults continued. When I sat down, each and every policemen hit me while walking by me; so I stood up and went to a corner. They told me to sit back down, I said “When I do, they all hit me” and again they swore at me, slapped and punched me and forced me to sit down. They were hitting the girl,  strangling her. A plainclothes police officer named Süleyman said these exact words to her: “I will bring you on all fours and fuck you right here!” The girl’s response was heartbreaking; all she could say in a low voice was: “Okay brother”. There were three of us on the bus and they made us chant “I love the Turkish police”, “I love my country”; louder and louder, countless times. Incessant insults and beating followed. Just as I thought it was somewhat calmer inside the bus, this time they brought another friend. His nose was broken. I asked him why he hadn’t protected his face. He said that two of them had held his arms and a third had punched him on the nose three times. There were people they brought occasionally. Then they brought another friend named Mustafa, a student from Bahcesehir University. 20 officers from the anti-riot squad had attacked him, he could not stand on his two feet. Beside the detention bus, they slapped and punched him, and then hit him on the head with a helmet, and then knocked his head against the bus window. As they were pushing him in, they were still hitting him. They made him sit down handcuffed behind the back; his head was bleeding. We saw the blood coming from his head. I went near him with a piece of fabric (actually it was the bloody tshirt of our friend with the broken nose). I was pressing it against the wound to stop bleeding when the policeman named Süleyman swore at me and said “Go back to your fucking seat!”. I said he was bleeding. He said he did not care and he really did not. They did not uncuff him  even if he was badly wounded. We urged some of them and finally one policeman uncuffed him. And the second most heartbreaking moment came when we were in the police station to testify. Mustafa asked me “What happened in the bus? Did they hit me?”. He could not remember. He was not fully conscious while we were in the bus. We were not allowed to go to the toilet in the detention bus, they only gave us a bottle of water. We were first taken to the hospital for examination and medical report and then to the police station. In the police station there were numerous lawyers and the police were suddenly so very polite toward us, saying “please” etc.
Many thanks to the lawyers,  our friends who called the lawyers to aid and everyone who were concerned for us. There are no exaggerations or overstatements in this story; only facts. My sole purpose is to provide a firsthand account of what has happened.

Our rebel against tyranny continues. This fascist order is bound to decline.

Erkan Yolalan

Leave a Reply

De Nederlandse Klimaatbeweging

Wij zijn niet te stoppen, klimaatverandering wel!

Bijvoet Tegemoet

Natuur en plant in Nederland

Bladvormen

een sub-site van Les Simons

somaexperiments

Just another WordPress.com site

CircleEcology

Voedselbossen en agroecologie

Conferințele de Vară de la Telciu

Telciu Summer Conferences

Freestate SWOMP

Rustenburgerstraat 438 - 440, Amsterdam

Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Applied Ecologist's blog

Bridging the gap between researchers, and practitioners, and policymakers

Duurzame Pleinen

Werken aan eerlijke en groene pleinen

Human Rights Online Philippines

Promotion and Protection of Human Rights in the Philippines through Information Resources Online

The Feminist Rag

Surfing the Feminist Ocean & Decolonizing its Waves

Appalachian Center for Agroforestry

Rewilding permaculture one homestead at a time

the thai chronicles

You my friend are still so young: or what I learned after graduation

Onderweg

Ago quod agis

rock roads

Every road leads to rock

Race, Space, Place

the making and unmaking of freedoms in the Atlantic world and beyond

